Institut Régional des Matériaux Avancés

From the material
to the object

On a process going from the idea to the market, IRMA is positioned after the actors of fundamental research and applied research. It is the third entity to support projects and innovative companies in the Lorient area within a transversal sector on composite materials and the valorization in many economic sectors (aeronautics, nautical, automotive and, in the longer term, health or agri-food sectors with the valorization of co-products such as fibers or oyster shells…)

We create innovative and “custom” plastic and composite materials
Specialists in 3D printing

IRMA (Institut Régional des Matériaux Avancés) is a technical center created in 1990 and based in the Lorient basin in the heart of Sailing Valley. Irma offers high quality services in plastic and composite additive manufacturing in small series for aeronautics, yachting, packaging…

More precisely, we design innovative plastic and composite materials, manufacture, and market complex parts with “custom” formulations at the request of our customers.

We are specialized in 3D printing: parts in composite materials based on short fibers (FDM), long fibers (FDM assisted by extrusion) and continuous fibers (automated fiber placement: AFP).

We perform mechanical, chemical, biological and other tests on demand.

Our services

Additive Manufacturing

We start from available technical composite materials and additive manufacturing processes to design parts that satisfy technical and economical requirements
Read more

IRMA
Team

Passionate about engineering, our team
is agile and environmentally engaged

Maxime Delbury

CEO

Frédéric Fourreau

After a ‘handful’ of previous experiences directing interesting projects and R&D departments at large corporate groups, accompanying growing SMEs and developing a technology start-up in Lorient, I was contacted in 2020 to develop jewel of a project: IRMA. This new challenge called on all of my business management and development skills: I had to develop companies’ knowledge of the expert skills of our group and participate in the development of the territory around IRMA’s materials skills.

Frédéric Fourreau

General Director

Yves Grohens

Scientific Director

Valérie Poirier

Administrative and
financial manager

Hélène Marcel

Administrative assistant

Dalyal Copin

‘Following my training as a marine resources engineer specialised in marine biotechnology and my experience working at the Marine Biotechnology and Chemistry Laboratory (LCMB), I decided to pursue the topic of materials biodegradation.

As the person responsible for IRMA’s environmental impact pillar, I possess expertise in the fields of eco-toxicology and material biodegradation. I am currently working on multiple projects, one of which has the goal of creating French regulations in the context of the biodegradation of plastic materials in marine environments as well as their eco-toxicological effects. Moreover, I am developing an offering of services for carrying out Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) analyses and evaluating the environmental impacts of materials. »

Dalyal Copin

R&D Engineer
Environmental impact

Pierre Lemechko

‘A chemist and polymer scientist by training, my specialty is using biotechnology to produce bacterial polyesters (polyhydroxyalcanoates or PHAs) that are bio-sourced and biodegradable. Biotechnology allows us to consider bioplastic production as a part of a circular economy by upcycling co-products rich in carbonaceous materials, such as microorganism culture substrates.

I characterise these bioplastics on the structural, physicochemical and mechanical levels in order to understand their properties and thus meet our customers’ expectations.

For example, PHAs have interesting properties in terms of cosmetics applications or for implantable medical devices (e.g. prostheses, dissolvable sutures). »

Pierre Lemechko

R&D Engineer
Chemist

Morgan Deroiné

‘After studying my PhD on biopolymer ageing in marine environments at the Institut de Recherche Dupuy de Lôme, I decided to specialise in biodegradable materials. Finding a different way to design plastic materials as a function of their intended application and integrating the concept of their end of life has huge stakes for the future.
At IRMA, I mainly work on research projects and provide support for physicochemical, thermal and mechanical polymer characterisation services. In parallel, I propose studying the different ways in which materials can age, whether through accelerated ageing in a UV or climactic chamber, hydrothermal ageing or natural ageing in the marine environment… IRMA is also a partner of the European project INdIGO Interreg Projectof which I am scientific director, the goal of which is to manufacture new biodegradable fishing tools and to study their degradation in the marine environment.

Morgan Deroiné

R&D Engineer
Biodegradable materials

Romain Bévan

‘As the holder of a Masters’ Degree in Electronics and Industrial Computing from the Université de Bretagne Sud in Lorient, I enjoy belonging to an environment that unites research and industry.

I joined IRMA in 2018 and work on additive manufacturing/3D printing, as well as occasionally on research projects and the provision of services.

Manufacturers come to us with questions about new manufacturing technologies, the innovative materials available and/or with parts that they would like to have 3D printed. My goal is to direct and accompany them in their projects from the design phase up until the creation of industrial prototypes and small series.’ »

Romain Bévan

R&D Engineer
Additive manufacturing

Clément Denoual

‘I have a Master’s Degree in Polymer and Composite Eco-design from the Université de Bretagne Sud in Lorient and have decided to focus on extrusion and the formulation of polymer materials. Following my initial professional experience in the post-consumer plastic materials recycling sector, I later specialised in the development of innovative formulations for FDM/FFF 3D printing applications.
My current task at IRMA hinges on developing new pre-fabricated technical base products for additive manufacturing, as a part of collaborative projects or our R&D service, for a broad variety of fields of application. In doing so, I work with all types of plastics, from natural fibre-reinforced bio-plastics to the most advanced materials for aeronautics applications. I draw from my knowledge of twin-screw extrusion compounding, single-screw extrusion forming, 3D printing and various characterisation skills in order to best meet the needs of IRMA’s customers and partners.’

Clément Denoual

R&D Engineer
Materials & Additive Manufacturing

Léo Talotte

‘A materials engineer by training, I use 3D printing to manufacture prototypes, mock-ups and functional parts as well as to work on automated fibre placement (AFP) foil manufacturing.
I am currently in charge of the Gwalenn Du project, which aims to develop the manufacturing of fishing rods using thermoplastic filament winding in partnership with Nautix and FIIISH. It seeks to relocate the manufacture of these elements while simultaneously improving the quality and recyclability of objects. This technology could also be used in the hydrogen sector for manufacturing reservoirs.
I am also working on the development of the AFP-XS, a fibre placement robot that operates integrated with Rhino CAD software, in order to diversify IRMA’s catalogue of services.

Léo Talotte

R&D Engineer
Composite materials

Kévin Henry

‘As someone who is passionate about high-performance composite materials, I have been responsible for AFP (automated fibre placement) and characterisation at IRMA since 2018.
I advise our customers regarding their choice of materials as well as the manufacturing strategy required in order to comply with their desired resistance requirements. I work with technical parts applied to water sports (aerodynamic appendages for IMOCA/Ultim) or aeronautics. Moreover, we are now offering our skills to stakeholders in the hydrogen applications sector.’

Kévin Henry

R&D Engineer
Composite materials

Trusted by

Menu

Institut Régional des Matériaux Avancés

De la matière
à l’objet

Sur un processus allant de l’idée au marché, IRMA se situe après les acteurs de la recherche fondamentale et de la recherche appliquée. Elle est la 3ème entité d’accompagnement des projets et des entreprises innovantes du territoire lorientais au sein d’une filière transversale sur les matériaux composites et leur valorisation dans de très nombreuses filières économiques (aéronautique, nautisme, automobile à plus long terme celles de la santé ou de l’agroalimentaire avec la valorisation de coproduits comme les fibres ou les coquilles d’huitres…).

Nous créons des matières plastiques et composites innovantes et “sur mesure”
Spécialistes en impression 3D

IRMA (Institut Régional des Matériaux Avancés) est un centre technique créé en 1990 basé dans le bassin Lorientais au cœur de la Sailing Valley.
Irma propose des services de haute qualité en fabrication additive plastique et composite en petite série pour l’aéronautique, la plaisance, l’emballage…

Plus précisément, nous concevons des matières plastiques et composites innovantes, fabriquons et commercialisons des pièces complexes avec des formulations «sur mesure» à la demande de nos clients.

Nous sommes spécialisés en impression 3D : pièces en matériaux composites à base de fibres courtes (FDM), de fibres longues (FDM assisté par extrusion) et de fibres continues (placement automatisé de fibres : AFP).

Nous réalisons les prestations de tests mécaniques, chimiques, biologiques et autres, à la demande.

Nos services

Fabrication additive composites

Nous partons de matières composites techniques disponibles et des procédés de fabrication additive pour concevoir les pièces répondant aux exigences techniques et économiques
En savoir plus

Matériaux faibles impacts

Nous partons de matières composites techniques disponibles et des procédés de fabrication additive pour concevoir les pièces répondant aux exigences techniques et économiques
En savoir plus

L’équipe
IRMA

Passionnée de technique, notre équipe
est agile et engagée pour l’environnement.

Maxime Delbury

Président

Frédéric Fourreau

Directeur Général

Après « quelques » expériences passées à diriger de beaux projets ou départements de R&D dans des grands groupes, à accompagner l’évolution de PME en croissance, à développer une startup technologique sur le territoire lorientais, j’ai été contacté courant 2020 pour développer la pépite IRMA. Mes compétences en management, en gestion d’entreprises, en développement commercial seront grandement mobilisées pour ce nouveau challenge : valoriser les compétences expertes de notre pépite auprès des entreprises et participer au développement du territoire sur les compétences matériaux de IRMA.

Frédéric Fourreau

Directeur Général

Yves Grohens

Directeur scientifique

Valérie Poirier

Responsable administrative
et financière

Hélène Marcel

Assistante administrative

Dalyal Copin

Ingénieur R&D
Impact environnemental

« À la suite d’une formation d’ingénieur en valorisation des ressources marines avec spécialisation en biotechnologies marines et fort d’une expérience au Laboratoire de Biotechnologie et Chimie Marines, j’ai décidé de m’orienter vers la biodégradation des matériaux.

Prenant en charge le volet Impact Environnemental d’IRMA, je dispose de compétences dans les domaines de l’écotoxicologie et de la biodégradation des matériaux. Je travaille actuellement sur plusieurs projets dont un visant à l’élaboration de normes françaises dans le cadre de la biodégradation de matériaux plastiques en milieu marin ainsi que leurs effets écotoxicologiques. Je développe une offre de prestations de services pour évaluer l’Analyse du Cycle de Vie (ACV) et les impacts environnementaux des matériaux. »

Dalyal Copin

Ingénieur R&D
Impact environnemental

Pierre Lemechko

Ingénieur R&D
Chimiste

« Chimiste et polymériste de formation, je suis spécialisé dans la production par biotechnologie de polyesters bactériens (les polyhydroxyalcanoates ou PHA) qui sont biosourcés et biodégradables. La biotechnologie permet d’envisager cette production de bioplastique dans le cadre d’une économie circulaire en valorisant des coproduits riches en matières carbonées comme substrat de culture des microorganismes.

Je caractérise ces bioplastiques aussi bien au niveau structural qu’au niveau physico-chimique et mécanique afin d’en comprendre les propriétés et ainsi rejoindre les exigences de nos clients.

Les PHA possèdent par exemple des propriétés intéressantes pour des applications cosmétiques ou pour des dispositifs médicaux implantables (ex : prothèses, fils résorbables). »

Pierre Lemechko

Ingénieur R&D
Chimiste

Morgan Deroiné

Ingénieure R&D
Matériaux biodégradables

« Après un doctorat sur le thème du vieillissement de biopolymères en milieu marin à l’Institut de Recherche Dupuy de Lôme, je me suis spécialisée dans les matériaux biodégradables. Concevoir différemment les matériaux plastiques, en fonction de l’application visée et en intégrant la notion de fin de vie, est l’un des enjeux de demain.
Chez IRMA, je travaille principalement sur des projets de recherche et j’interviens également en appui à la prestation sur de la caractérisation physico-chimique, thermique et mécanique des polymères. En parallèle, je propose d’étudier différents types de vieillissement de vos matériaux : vieillissement accéléré en enceinte UV ou en enceinte climatique, vieillissement hydrothermique ou naturel en milieu marin… IRMA est aussi partenaire du projet européen INdIGO Interreg Project dont je suis la coordinatrice scientifique, qui a pour but de fabriquer de nouveaux engins de pêche biodégradables et d’étudier de leur dégradation en milieu marin. »

Morgan Deroiné

Ingénieure R&D
Matériaux biodégradables

Romain Bévan

Ingénieur R&D
Fabrication additive

« Titulaire d’un Master Électronique et Informatique Industrielle de l’Université de Bretagne-Sud à Lorient, j’apprécie d’évoluer dans un univers faisant le lien entre la recherche et l’industrie.

Arrivé en 2018 chez IRMA, je travaille sur la thématique fabrication additive/impression 3D, à la fois sur des projets de recherches et sur des prestations de services.

Les industriels viennent à notre rencontre avec des questions sur les nouvelles technologies de fabrication, les matières innovantes disponibles et/ou avec des pièces qu’ils souhaitent réaliser en impression 3D. Ma mission est de les aiguiller et de les accompagner dans la réalisation de leurs projets depuis la phase de conception, jusqu’à la phase de réalisation de prototypes industriels et petites séries. »

Romain Bévan

Ingénieur R&D
Fabrication additive

Clément Denoual

Ingénieur R&D
Matériaux & Fabrication additive

« Titulaire d’un Master Eco-Conception des Polymères et Composites de l’Université de Bretagne Sud à Lorient, je me suis orienté vers l’extrusion et la formulation des matériaux polymères. Fort d’une première expérience professionnelle dans le domaine du recyclage des matériaux plastiques post-consommation, je me suis ensuite spécialisé dans le développement de formulations innovantes pour des applications d’impression 3D par dépôt de fil fondu (FDM/FFF).
Ma mission actuelle au sein d’IRMA s’articule autour du développement de nouveaux semi-produits techniques pour la fabrication additive, en mode projet collaboratif ou prestation de R&D pour des domaines d’application très variés. Je suis amené à travailler tout type de plastiques ; des bioplastiques renforcés en fibres naturelles aux matériaux les plus techniques pour des applications aéronautiques. Je m’appuie sur mes compétences en compoundage par extrusion bi-vis, mise en forme par extrusion monovis, impression 3D et caractérisations diverses pour répondre au mieux aux besoins des clients et partenaires. »

Clément Denoual

Ingénieur R&D
Matériaux & Fabrication additive

Léo Talotte

Ingénieur R&D
Matériaux composites

« Ingénieur matériaux de formation, j’utilise l’impression 3D pour la fabrication de prototypes, maquettes et pièces fonctionnelles et travailler sur la fabrication de foils par placement de fibres automatisé (AFP).
Actuellement, je suis en charge du projet Gwalenn Du, visant à développer la fabrication de cannes à pêche par enroulement filamentaire thermoplastique, en partenariat avec Nautix et FIIISH. Ce projet vise à relocaliser la production, tout en améliorant la qualité et la recyclabilité des objets. Cette technologie pourra aussi être utilisée dans le domaine de l’hydrogène pour la fabrication de réservoirs.
Je travaille aussi au développement de l’AFP-XS, robot de placement de fibres fonctionnant en intégration dans le logiciel de CAO Rhino afin de diversifier l’offre d’IRMA. »

Léo Talotte

Ingénieur R&D
Matériaux composites

Kévin Henry

Ingénieur R&D
Matériaux composites

« Passionné par les matériaux composites à hautes performances, je suis responsable depuis 2018 de l’activité AFP (placement de fibres automatisé) et de la prestation de caractérisation au sein d’IRMA.
Je conseille nos clients tant sur leur choix de matériaux que sur la stratégie de fabrication pour tenir les exigences de résistance qu’ils souhaitent. Je travaille sur des pièces techniques appliquées au nautisme (appendices aérodynamiques pour IMOCA / Ultim) ou à l’aéronautique. Nous offrons désormais nos compétences aux acteurs des applications hydrogène. »

Kévin Henry

Ingénieur R&D
Matériaux composites

Ils nous font
confiance

Menu